he 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards will take place at Cipriani South Street, Casa Cipriani in Manhattan, on November 7. For this rendition, the award show that celebrates the best of American fashion comes in partnership with Amazon Fashion and sees a diverse lineup of talents representing the formidable American fashion scene.

On Thursday, September 16, the CFDA announced its nominees for the 2022 Fashion awards across various sectors, including Designer of the Year Womenswear, Menswear, and Accessories. It also announced the nominees for Emerging Designer of the Year. There is also a novel category for Stylist of the Year that boasts Law Roach as its inaugural recipient.

The Honorees

The Board of Trustee’s Award will posthumously be given to Virgil Abloh to honor the late designer’s contribution to global fashion. Meanwhile, longtime CFDA member, Jeffery Banks will be honored with the Special Anniversary Award. (This is a one-time award to mark the CFDA’s 60th anniversary). The Fashion Icon Award will be given to singer-songwriter, Lenny Kravitz, while Slaysians from the The House of Slay featuring Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William will be honored with the Positive Social Influence Award.

Andrew Bolton, Wendy Yu Curator in Charge of The Costume Institute at The Metropolitan Museum of Art will be honored with the Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert. Elsewhere, Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts will receive the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award. The Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard will be given to Patti Wilson. While the Environmental Sustainability Award will be presented to The United Nations and accepted by Ms. Amina J. Mohammed, United Nations Deputy Secretary-General.

Speaking about the 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards, Muge Erdirik Dogan, President of Amazon Fashion said: “The CFDA Fashion Awards is an opportunity to recognize and applaud the designers who are using their creativity to transform and drive the industry forward.” “Amazon Fashion shares a joint mission with the CFDA to support America’s foremost designers, who have been influential in their efforts, from sustainability to innovation. Congratulations to all of the nominees and honorees this year,” she concluded.

Check out the 2022 CFDA Awards nominees…

Nominees for the American Womenswear Designer of the Year are Catherine Holstein for KHAITE, Christopher John Rogers, Gabriela Hearst, LaQuan Smith, and Peter Do.

The American Menswear Designer of the Year nominees are Emily Bode Aujla for Bode, Jerry Lorenzo for Fear of God, Mike Amiri for Amiri, Thom Browne for Thom Browne New York, and Willy Chavarria.

Meanwhile, Aurora James for Brother Vellies, Brandon Blackwood, Raul Lopez for LUAR, Stuart Vevers for Coach, and Telfar Clemens for Telfar are all nominated for American Accessory Designer of the Year.

Finally, the American Emerging Designer of the Year nominees are Bach Mai, Carly Mark for Puppets and Puppets, Colm Dillane for KidSuper, Elena Velez, and Lauren Harwell Godfrey for Harwell Godfrey.

“The 2022 CFDA Fashion Awards will celebrate not just honor American fashion’s best and brightest talents, but also the CFDA’s 60th-anniversary milestone,” CFDA CEO Steven Kolb said. “This year’s nominees reflect the renewed excitement around American fashion generated by designers who are redefining the future of our industry. The CFDA thanks Amazon Fashion for its support of the awards.”

All images, CFDA. For more information, visit the website.

For the latest in fashion, lifestyle and culture, follow us on Instagram @StyleRave_

This is a Style Rave original content exclusively created for our readers. If reproduced, distributed, transmitted, cached, or otherwise used by any other publishing house or blogs, such use should provide a direct link to this source article. Use of and/or registration on any portion of this site constitutes acceptance of our Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy.

—Read also